Will Cullen Bunn’s Sinestro Fly?

Sinestrofly

by Jeremy DeFatta

DC announced last night that Sinestro will get his own series in April.

Thaal Sinestro is oneof my all-time favorite comics characters, and ties with Batman as my favorite DC character. Needless to say, I was pretty excited to hear this news, until I saw who was writing it…

Now, I admit I haven’t read Cullen Bunn‘s The Sixth Gun, which I’m told is genius and certainly his best work, but his track record on non-creator-owned properties has been pretty lackluster. I have read some of his work on Captain America after Ed Brubaker‘s departure and found it wanting. His work may simply not be my cup of tea, but I have heard other people complain that his presence on a title while at Marvel was often that title’s kiss of death.

All of that aside, I may yet check out this new Sinestro series, and I encourage all of you reading this to do so. Support Sinestro. Believe in Sinestro! He deserves his own series!

He is perhaps the single greatest gift of Geoff Johns‘s run on Green Lantern, which is full to bursting with wonderful things and will be discussed in later blog entries. Johns took a silly, shallow, Snidely Whiplash-esque Silver Age villain (Seriously? A villain whose name is a play on the word “sinister”? How 60s!) and turned him into one of the most complex characters in any comic being published today. He certainly made Sinestro more interesting than Hal Jordan, the hero of the title.

Sinestro is a villain you can’t help but respect; his methods are brutal but there is reasoning (even a sort of nobility) behind them. He seeks to make the weak strong and give his people safe, peaceful lives under his rule. I’d like to hear thoughts (or even criticisms) from other fans of the character.

On a side note, I’d like to remind everyone that Sinestro was played by the amazing Mark Strong in the Green Lantern film from a couple of years ago. He may be the only reason to watch it, honestly.

Remember to support your local comic shops! Chances are very high they have back issues of Geoff Johns’s run on Green Lantern. If you haven’t checked it out yet (which seems unlikely), give it a shot. Tweet me @quaintjeremy.

image: Comicscube

16 thoughts on “Will Cullen Bunn’s Sinestro Fly?

  1. Sinestro is basically the most interesting character in DC. Definitely the most interesting villain. Some efforts have been made to make Lex Luthor a champion of humanity and true believer in Superman’s harmfulness, for instance, but nothing approaches Sinestro’s commitment to what he sees as right and necessary. It’s so good because it even goes beyond that — not only does HE believe, he may be right in many cases, as presented to the audience. Unfortunately, since Johns, it seems many writers don’t know what to do with that kind of intensity.

    Like

  2. I have to confess I don’t know the first thing about this stuff. I am just getting back into comics after not following 15 years or more. That is why I am an so excited to have Jeremy writing about them. This intrigues me, though. I learned a few things about the Lantern Corps while I was chasing down the reference links, so I may pick this series up and follow it. Just judging from comments threads at comic sites and such, it seems like a lot of people agree that Sinestro is as awesome as you and Jeremy think he is.

    Like

      • Thanks, dude! I need to bring your DVDs back, I watched them both. Also, while you’re here, take a look at the sidebar. I have added an author grid, and you’re listed on it, because you have access to the blog through your wordpress account. As we get more people WordPress access, I’ll be able to list them on it, too.

        Like

          • One more thing to look at – If you click the title to load the actual post page, you will see that mine and Diana’s posts have our photos and profile blurbs at the bottom. Once you start loading your own drafts, yours will appear at the bottom of your posts, even if it’s me who clicks the publish button.

            Like

  3. Pingback: Is Batman a Marvel character trapped in the DC Universe? | Sourcerer

  4. Pingback: JeremyBlog — My 10 Favorite DC Characters | Sourcerer

  5. Pingback: Sinestro #1. Finally. With Minor Spoilers. | Sourcerer

Chatter Away!