And Now For Something Completely Different

Your weekend music. I don’t blog a lot of pure pop here, so no idea how this plays. I find the video hilarious.

I’d intended to use this to prompt a well-laid-out discussion about the changing behavior of television viewers, which is important to this blog because we publish a lot of tv-related content. Didn’t get the post I wanted to write done, so here’s the shorter, simpler version.

People are watching television on demand now more than sitting down and watching episodes when they air. I think this is true even of people who get their tv from a cable provider rather than from places like Netflix or Hulu. I don’t have data to back this up; it’s just what I think.

That means, as time goes on, individual episode reviews are going to get us less and less, and posting them the day after an episode airs is also going to get us less and less.

Throw in the fact that Netflix is dumping entire seasons onto the internet at once, and we have both a scheduling issue, and an issue with the way we’ve been structuring the tv reviews. We have a little time to think about this — plenty of people are still looking for “just-after” reviews at the moment, but I’d like to get ahead of this.

So, bloggers and tv viewers. What’s the best way to blog a series that’s delivered all-at-once for an audience that’s watching at their own pace, and whenever they have time?

And what are you willing to share with us about your own tv viewing habits?

11 thoughts on “And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. I don’t watch TV except the news, and I usually do news online. That being said, I think reviewing whole season’s is the way to go. I don’t know anyone who watches “real time”. Every person I know who follows a series binge watches. I know people who have watched 3 or 4 seasons of a show straight through without watching anything else, as if they’re reading a book. Or watching a very long movie.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I tend to do that, too. I typically only have one or two shows I’m watching at any one time, and I watch them straight through until I’m caught up before I move on to something else. And I go months sometimes without watching tv.

      Like

  2. I don’t have an answer for the first question. As to my own viewing habits. I rely on Netflix and what they call local broadcast antenna for television. In other words – no cable. Canadaland is a large, mostly underpopulated, country. We do not have the infrastructure for moderately priced cable. I’m not watching a lot in real time. So much of what people are talking about is being generated on cable television that I can’t comment in a timely fashion. When, if ever, we get offered a cable package where we can select X number of stations of our choosing at a reasonable price, I might hop on board the cable train. Mebbe. I’m one of those people watching whole seasons or series of something when it comes out on Netflix.

    So loved that video. Cheers!

    Like

    • Thanks! We have cable because the cable provider has a local internet monopoly. An economy cable package only adds about $15 per month to the bill over what we’d pay for just internet. But we mostly use the cable at this point to keep our data use down and watch local news. We’re watching Netflix more and more, and even when we watch network programming, we tend to sit down on the weekend and watch 2-3 episodes at a time.

      I’d love to just use the digital antenna for local programming and disconnect the cable tv entirely, but as long as I only have one option for internet service, it doesn’t make any sense to do that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I mostly don’t watch TV. I have a couple of series that I watch over and over again, start to finish and I have purchased them to stream. When I start one of those, that’s all I watch, even if they are weekly shows that ran for 7 or 8 seasons. Same goes for my favorite show which has 12 seasons of weekly shows. I watch it from the first episode to the last before anything else. I tried to do the same thing with Netflix newer shows, binge watch, that is. However I haven’t finished the latest season of Orange Is the New Black. I watched the first 7 or so episodes and haven’t gotten back to it. But generally, I watch all at once.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. TV viewing habits: Watching TV is a struggle. It takes a lot of effort to carve out that time for something new. Mostly what I watch is cooking shows and a couple ancient British sitcoms I’ve practically memorized, because I need the noise and because those sitcoms are majorly soothing for me at this point. I do keep a list of “things I can do while watching TV,” though (usually internet searches and repetitive minutiae). Sometimes I have things I really need to do on there, so it’s an excuse to watch TV, and other times I really want to watch a show or movie and that’s an excuse to do all the random little things on the list. Also, if I don’t watch a show or season straight through, that probably means I’m not all that interested and won’t ever finish it. (Exceptions: Gotham. Really just Gotham, that’s the only show I’ve ever been motivated to watch every single week as close to airtime as possible.)

    Liked by 1 person

Chatter Away!

