Star Wars Saturday: Are Star Wars Characters Interesting?

Here’s a post by Hannah Givens from January of 2014. Are Star Wars Characters Interesting? It stands out in my mind as one of the best posts I read during my first few months of blogging, and since most of you probably didn’t see it the first time around, you should give it a look. And here’s a nice Star Wars-themed video I found to go along with it.

The post touched off a conversation on Facebook that spilled back onto the comment thread and possibly onto twitter as well. (Given that this was 18 months ago, details are a little fuzzy.)

If I recall correctly, this conversation marks the point at which I started keeping up with Natacha Guyot and Rose Fischer — both of which are now friends and have contributed mightily to the blog in the last year. Talk about a stroke of good fortune.

Anyway, it’s a fabulous post. Give it a look!

11 thoughts on “Star Wars Saturday: Are Star Wars Characters Interesting?

  1. I was not on Twitter in January of 2014, but the Facebook thread was excellent, if I do say so myself. I blame it on Snowmageddon keeping people at their computers. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • Who is leaving me comments this time of night? OH, it’s you. 🙂

      I thought about you not being on Twitter then after I published this, but it sounds good, so I am leaving it.

      I’d quite forgotten that this all happened during the Snowmageddon and yes, the Facebook thread was a thing of beauty.

      Like

  2. Talking Star Wars characters (well, actually the actors), partner and I watched Kingsman last night and were amazed to see the name Mark Hammill in the credits… He played a frowsy middle-aged climate-science Professor (whose head (spoiler alert) explodes). But he was unrecognisable to us even while his head was intact. Fancy that.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Well, they’re not bad considering that they’re fairly simple stock characters in a straight-forward morality play cum bildungsromans. Adding too much depth and nuance risks universal appeal.

    Liked by 2 people

Chatter Away!

