Overachieving

Eye-rolling is the absolute worst. I got nothing friendly to answer eye-rolls with. I dealt with this all through school. It’s an actual problem.

Victim to Charm

When did “overachiever” become a pejorative to be spat at people while they balance studying, work, and extracurricular commitments?

I started seeing this culture in high school. If I got a high test score, answered a question in a class where participation wasn’t evaluated, or committed to a bunch of extracurriculars that I was genuinely passionate about, I’d occasionally get called “overachiever” as if it’s a bad thing to do well in school or participate in activities that I like.

I know I'm an overachiever, and I'm notAnd the o-word truly was meant as an insult. It was spoken in a harsh tone, sometimes accompanied by an eye roll.

Seeing other people be successful can be intimidating, but using “overachiever” as an insult may discourage students from setting and reaching academic and personal goals.

It’s happened to me: I’ve felt pressured to not speak up in class or to do less than my best on an assignment, to do “

View original post 104 more words

6 thoughts on “Overachieving

  1. So I was trying to comment on this from my phone and stupid WordPress, which I love in part for its stupidity, tricked me into reblogging it from the mobile app.

    Since this went out on the other social media, and I do not feel like cleaning up a bunch of links, and I am a fan of Victim To Charm, I shall leave it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some “normals” do not like people that strive to be the best they can be. Unfortunate, but true. Take it as a compliment! Means you’re doing something right!

    Like

    • yes, a very much out-of-character reblog. But no way I am sharing a link to your blog on Twitter, then deleting it. And also, it’s a good piece. it would be worthy if we wrote about stuff like this here, for sure. Didn’t hurt a thing to leave it up, and actually, it got a read or two.

      Like

Chatter Away!

