A Note to Contributors

New About pages are going up tonight. If you stumble onto the “For Contributors” page before we’ve had a chance to talk about the new stuff, let me reassure you that not one thing about the way I handle contributions is changing. Not imposing a bunch of rules.selfportrait1

This goes for everyone, whether you are one of the handful of people who have open invitations to email me drafts any time, or whether you are a new contributor waiting to be announced. I appreciate your contributions to no end. This blog would not exist without you.

That page will have three purposes.

  • To put the way we’re doing things now into clear, concise language.
  • To answer common questions so I don’t have to explain them by email to future contributors.
  • To address things that I always want to know when I get ready to post on someone else’s blog.

As with any new piece of communication produced under a deadline, it may need tweaking to serve the purpose I intend. But it’s necessary to have that page.

I advertised a couple of months ago and picked up three regular bloggers and a guest post from a friend. I’m anticipating having to go out for contributors periodically as people end their runs and move on to other things, and expecting bloggers to pitch me ideas from time to time as I make more friends.

You’ll need to read it. But it’s more for the future than for the present.

πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “A Note to Contributors

  1. The drop-down lists are fabulous πŸ™‚ I really like having a clear way to navigate through a site and you’ve obviously worked extremely hard to get it right. I agree that the contributors section needs to be there and I’m going over right now to visit!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you liked them. I’m going to do something similar with my own blog in the spring. I’ve only got about 300 posts there and the categorization over there is a little better, so it won’t be such a chore.

      I can’t believe I actually need a contributors page. But that page will save me a lot of communication time in the future. It’s my side of a conversation I’ve had with everyone who’s ever posted here. Also, I think it’s a good way to advertise for guest bloggers without actually asking people.

      Like

      • I agree πŸ™‚ I’m going to do my announcement post tomorrow. Is it okay if I mention what I’ll be contributing?

        I’m going to attempt the categorization on my own blog too, as well as adding a few features. It’s time to make improvements all round. πŸ™‚

        Like

Chatter Away!

