Feminist Friday Options

First, a quick clip. These are WWI-era suffragettes in prison for the crime of demonstrating in front of the White House during a time when the government was paranoid about labor unrest and Europe was engulfed in war. From the 2004 movie Iron Jawed Angels. It won three Golden Globes and received 12 nominations.

We managed to extend our weekly Feminist Friday discussions into their 11th week at Part Time Monster last week. It was a great, and memorable thread. It went so well, I answered a few new comments earlier today. You can find our previous discussions on this page.

We’ll have to take another off-week again at some point, but not this week. I feel like we’re on a roll. Options for this Friday:

  1. I can write the  post this week. If I do, I’m either talking about early childhood education again, or I’m re-visiting the issue of the feminism label itself. That’s where we started, and we’ve picked up a lot of new people since then. Whether I revisit the labeling issue this week or not, I’ll do it soon.
  2. If someone has the time to write a post, the inclination to host the thread, or both, I’m open to that. Hit us up on this thread or @Sourcererblog.

As always, I need input by Wednesday so I’ll have time to do the writing.

A quick preview: Posts from Diana, Jeremy, David, and Garrett this week. We’re set through Thursday again. If I’m able to take care of Tolkien and Feminist Friday early enough in the week, I’ll also have a Follow Friday on the Blog. I’ll also have a few posts at The Writing Catalog this week. I’m drafting several, but not sure how many I’ll have finished by Thursday.

Have a fabulous week!

6 thoughts on “Feminist Friday Options

    • Thanks! Rose is of the same mind, if I understood or discussion elsewhere this weekend, and so is Diana. At the moment, I’m trying to decide whether revisiting the label is for this week, or whether perhaps I should wait a week, because I don’t want to lose the momentum on education.

      Like

  1. Re: education: who takes Gender Studies courses and why (credits? interest? major?); the shift from “Women’s Studies” to more inclusive “Gender Studies” or “Gender, Sexualities, and Feminist Studies” (a la Middlebury College); what is included in feminist education and how has it shifted; school dress codes–which seem to be coming to a head lately in the news; how the bloggers who participate got their feminist education (classes? a teacher? home? obsessively reading the Internet?).

    Whenever/if you’re ready for a new macro topic, I can get a post going on gendered marketing of body products. (Perhaps something to work on and submit for edits far in advance?)

    Liked by 2 people

    • yeah. That’s the way to do it. Think about it a bit and write a good one, I say.

      The topic is good and probably none of the rest of us can write about it but you, really.

      I’ll re-read and send you a better comment tomorrow. You caught me right at that moment when I was preparing to reboot my brain, hehe.

      My policy is if someone capable of writing a credible discussion post writes one, and I have enough notice, I promote it the same way I promote my own posts.

      So yes. Write. Work on. Submit for edits to the people you trust most. Make it a good one. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Chatter Away!

