Follow Friday: Part Time Monster

This is such a good idea, I have to share it. Follow Friday on the blogs! Plus, it’s a fabulous post with great art.

Lazy Lady

I’m starting a new weekly post, Follow Friday, in which I share a blog that I personally subscribe to and I want to recommend to you!

First up is Part Time Monster. Now, as you may know, I am a contributor at Part Time Monster. I do a monthly (sometimes) tabletop game review over there. It is written by my friend/sister-in-law, Diana. I have other friends who are contributors as well.

I think Diana’s “about” blurb sums up Part-Time Monster perfectly.

Part Time Monster is a collaborative and personal blog focusing on books, girls, monsters, and sociocultural commentary.

Diana (with the help of a contributor or two) just finished the A-Z challenge last month, each day presenting us with a FEMALE character from children’s literature. It was one of the most enjoyable reads I’ve had from a blog, and I looked forward to each day.

Here are some links…

View original post 100 more words

9 thoughts on “Follow Friday: Part Time Monster

  1. What a great way to introduce people to blogs they might not have known about. 🙂
    I do something similar on my 100 days of happiness challenge,
    but I like this idea much better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I like this idea, too. I can’t believe it never occurred to me. I do follow fridays on twitter almost every week. Why not on the blogs, as well?

      Like

        • LOL. It’s perfect on a blog. Not a difficult post to write, if you’ve been reading the blog for awhile. It gets you through the day and helps another blogger out.

          I see no downside. I was Twitter-challenged up until a couple of months ago. I’m writing a series about twitter basics here. You can find links to the first three installments in this post at my writing blog http://gno112.wordpress.com/2014/05/10/may-preview/ and I’ll have a couple more posts about twitter this week. It took a lot of effort and research and asking noob questions for me to figure it out, I’m trying to spare everyone else that trouble and just tell them the stuff that matters.

          Like

          • All I can say is a heartfelt thank you 🙂

            For both your willingness to help an awkward noob (extra points for not laughing) and for your kindness (and because you aren’t laughing) 😉

            I’ll be watching for the updates you mentioned. It’ll be nice to go on Twitter and interact with people instead of looking like a deer in headlights LoL

            Like

            • It’s helpful to tweet with someone you talk to either offline or on other social media to get your feet under you. I’ve only really been tweeting since mid-January, and I started out tweeting with two other people.

              Keep in mind, people with big followings are liable to miss your tweets unless you tag them, or unless they have you on a list that they check regularly.

              Like

            • All good points to remember. 🙂
              I’ve spent a large portion of the week just to read more on the ins and outs as it were, the etiquette, and the general how to’s.

              I took a breath yesterday and went back and reread it all today. Did I mention my perfectionism/geek gene? 😉
              Yeah it worked much better before my brain went on a memory strike lol
              I (think) I’ve a better understanding but its going to be an ongoing WIP. 🙂

              Like

  2. What a great idea! I have been slack on the FF on Twitter lately, my Fridays have been hectic the last few weeks, but I want to get back to it. I always find the greatest people to follow that way (mostly your recommendations!) And thanks for the Twitter posts, it has helped me tremendously! I’m working on a blogging list so I don’t have to scroll through so much noise to find the tweeps who link to great posts. I never would have known about it if you hadn’t talked about it.

    I’m going to jump on this FF for bloggers! Love it!

    Like

    • Me too! I may be June before I can start doing it, but I’d like to add it as a regular feature as soon as I can work it into my editorial schedule.

      I’ve changed my FF strategy on twitter a bit. I only do one big Follow Friday with lots of people – usually it’s the last one. The rest (3 or 4) include only one or two people. I’m trying to give the Fridays to people with smaller followings and people who I’ve met recently, as a way of introducing them to my network.

      The real value of FF on twitter for me is finding people who will follow back back looking at FF tweets I’m included in and checking out people I don’t know. Two of my Tweeps gained me 50 followers that way week-before-last.

      Like

Chatter Away!

