Ring Them Bells

This morning, I included a video of Sarah Jarosz with Jerry Douglas in my post about tomorrow’s #FeministFriday post at Drifting Through. This version is different, and it’s the perfect way to end the day. I encourage you to visit @gkelly73‘s blog tomorrow. Thoughts on the music below.

Continue reading

Pink

I’m told there will be a #FeministFriday post at Drifting Through tomorrow. I am hoping for a good discussion on the thread. If we manage to have one, it will be the sixth Friday in a row that we’ve managed to have a good discussion about gender inequality. I’ll certainly chime in if I have anything to say, and I will read every word of the thread. Remarks about the photo below.

Image © Gene'O, 2014. Free to use with credit, which means a link.

Image © Gene’O, 2014. Free to use with credit, which means a link.

Continue reading

Feminist Friday Discussion Plan and Catch-Up Post, with Sweet Music at the End

Gretchen of Drifting Through (@gkelly73) tweeted me last night that she plans to write about female body image for Feminist Friday, and I couldn’t be more pleased. I urge everyone who’s been contributing comments to these threads, or even just reading, to visit Drifting Through tomorrow and check out Gretchen’s post.

These Friday discussions are into their sixth week now. The reason I had the idea to start them was because Gretchen, Diana, and I have had a running conversation about gender inequality on comments threads since December or January. You can read the story of how our conversation started in my first discussion post, which asks the question “Is Feminism a useful label any more?”

Here’s a list of the other five posts, in chronological order. Some of them have links to posts on other blogs, and it’s all good stuff.

Thanks to everyone who’s kept this discussion going for so long. I’ll keep at it as long as I see interest and engagement from readers and other bloggers.

Now a progress report for folks who collaborate with me or follow my quest to build a huge network of creative people and use it to promote work that isn’t getting enough attention, and causes that need help.

Continue reading