Mid-Week Update and Feminist Friday Thoughts

First of all, thanks to regular contributors @quaintjeremy and @hohmeisw for keeping Sourcerer so well-supplied with posts lately. If it weren’t for you guys, there’s no way I would have made it to the halfway point of the A to Z Challenge with The Writing Catalog. I’ve discovered lots of good blogs through A to Z, and you can find many of them on my April A to Z page.

I need to take a break from the Feminist Friday discussions this week. I think the next thing that I, personally need to write about is either improving sex education or defining education itself for future discussion. Both of those are problematic topics that require a lot of thought and careful use of language. I don’t want to rush a post on either one just to have it for Friday, and I may be too tied up with work to moderate that discussion adequately.

If anyone else wants to write a Feminist Friday post, I’ll be happy read it and consider it for a reblog it or a link with a short response, and equally happy to participate in a discussion on your thread. I do plan to keep these discussions going, and I encourage everyone who’s been participating to keep finding ways to talk about gender inequality.

I’ve finally set up a series of structured Twitter lists. I haven’t added people to them yet because I need to make sure they’re right before I start adding people; but if you follow me on Twitter, I’ll be adding you to a list or two over the next month so that I can keep up with you more easily.

My priority for the next couple of weeks is to get the A to Z Challenge finished up; once I do that, you’ll see more posting from me here and at the Monster. In the meantime, we’ll have plenty from Jeremy and Will, and I’ll be around on the discussion threads, as always.

One thought on “Mid-Week Update and Feminist Friday Thoughts

  1. I’m glad that the blogs are doing well and good look on the post and research for Feminist Friday discussions. I’ve had this small idea of children media representation also linked to what I read about Geena Davis’s institute work and program of research. I’m not sure whether I could get it ready by tomorrow night (my time) or whether it would fit, but I’d be happy to help. 🙂

    Like

Chatter Away!

