Feminist Friday Preview, with Fabulous Harmonica

I’ve always loved this dude’s harmonica, and the piano is good here.

I’m discussing education as a solution for inequality this weekend, and everyone’s welcome to join in. I almost talked about it last week, but I thought we needed to discuss an issue first.

Education’s a big topic, so what I’m planning to do is try and break it down into categories and invite folks to help me figure out which part of education to focus on first.

Off to catch up on comments now. If you missed my announcement last night, I set up this Sourcerer account so I could follow friends more closely. So, those of you who’ve made an effort to let me know you’re reading regularly should start seeing more likes and comments from me once I get everyone into the reader. WordPress is really my social media home – just haven’t been around much lately because I’ve been juggling.

Happy Wednesday!

If you’re looking for something fun, The Punchy Lands has an official trailer and a start page now.

7 thoughts on “Feminist Friday Preview, with Fabulous Harmonica

  1. One of the things I’ve noticed from doing research related to my my Disability Awareness blog series is that there seems to be an insulation as far as what the problems and issues really are. People who are familiar with Independent Living and Disability Rights in general use a lot of terms and language that the general public doesn’t understand, and tend to talk about an issue as if everyone in the audience KNOWS why it’s important already. I don’t know how much that’s true for Feminism, and I know that there are a lot more issues involved with women’s rights and equality for women, but I tend to think that any time we start talking about education, the first item on the agenda should be “How can we make the relevant issues accessible and understandable to everybody?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great idea, Gene – both the topic itself and the idea of breaking it down into smaller chunks. Education starts in the home, with parents – the five/six year old the school system receives is already largely formed in terms of attitudes, and, although school education can work on malleable little minds, if bigotry, hatred, racism and sexism are being inculcated in the home, it is very difficult for teachers to make that real difference. I say this from the perspective of having been an English teacher for thirty years.
    Chicken and Egg comes into play here – because one can trace the attitudes back to the previous generation and the one before, and so forth.
    My own, perhaps idealistic view, is that we are all connected on this beautiful, flawed, fragile planet of ours – and what hurts one, hurts us all – and that the global education of ‘Bring in WE and banish US and Them’ is vital.
    Sorry: I may have gone off-piste here!
    Ali
    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree that it starts at home – I’ve said that on other threads.

      My opinion is that the first thing we have to do, category-wise, is separate early learning and the family environment from formal education. They’re interdependent, but I think they’re different enough to talk about separately.

      Like

Chatter Away!

