We’re Back in Business

We go back to mostly-everyday blogging here tomorrow with a Batman post from Jeremy. We’ll also have a post on Thursday, and another round of Feminist Friday discussion this weekend for anyone who’d like to join in.

Barring unforeseen circumstances, I’m planning to use the weekend to get far enough ahead to pick up where I left off with Mississippi’s multitude of inequality problems.

Once I write and schedule my last A to Z post, probably early week-after-next, I plan to start researching Gollum and think about a timeline for continuing the Tolkien series beginning in May.

Just so you know, both our traffic and our Facebook engagement was through the roof yesterday, and our personal, private network has given us a lot of vocal support.

I’ve set up an admin account for Sourcerer, for a couple of reasons:

  1. I’m following nearly 500 blogs with my personal WordPress account. I don’t want to unfollow a lot of people. That feed is very valuable, for several reasons. However, there are about 50 blogs I need to follow more closely, and they’re getting lost in the crowd. So, I’ll be following a those of you who engage with me regularly as Sourcerer. No one else has access to this account, so, if you get a comment from Sourcerer, you can be sure it’s from me.
  2. I load and publish posts from contributors with bylines, and sometimes it’s confusing to have that posted by “Gene’O.” So, to eliminate confusion, I’ll post contributions and updates from this account, and reserve the personal account for my own creative and analytical work.

We’re getting back to what we do best now – writing smart, funny things about pop culture, talking about inequality even when it makes people uncomfortable, and building relationships with other bloggers of good will.

Full moderation is still on. It will remain on until I have time to re-visit our comments policy (it’s on the about page).

 

4 thoughts on “We’re Back in Business

  1. From what we’ve done with our guest bloggers, I remember WordPress having a number of different levels you can add people on. I recall one being a level where the writers can create the post but then it awaits editing and publication. That might also work for people posting, and it would allow people to click that author’s name to get the listing of all of their posts they’ve written, to, say, easily find all the posts in the Batman series. Just a thought.

    Like

    • Yeah, that was what I envisioned when I started this, but convincing someone who’s not that into blogging as blogging to learn the interface, even just to paste in a rough draft, is a hard sell, and I can’t really turn down good writing, because even with all the packaging and embedding links, it’s still worthwhile to have days when I don’t have to post (no such thing as a day when I don’t have to write at this point). And it’s extremely important to me to have other peoples’ voices on the front page.

      Like

Chatter Away!

