Honesty.

Y’all need to go ahead and prepare for a lost week here. I hope it won’t end up being a whole week, but you never can tell.

matrix-closed-nightlcub-pittsburgh-alcohol-tax-sign-600x450

I feel like I owe this to you, rather than just turning on comment moderation and going dark, because this is an everyday blog and I’ve maintained it as such since November. I am experiencing a personal situation which requires all my attention. So let me speak to you as groups, and then explain what’s going on in my life.

Contributors, I don’t see how I possibly have time to take your posts from my inbox, edit them, insert links, find the art, and schedule them for Monday through Wednesday. The fact that we only have one person doing the interface-stuff is, honestly, one of our weak points. Sometimes an individual gets overtaxed, and when that happens, once you begin to build a community, the only recourse is to post a closed sign until that person gets themselves together enough to continue. Otherwise, it all falls apart.

Friends and collaborators, this is a temporary situation, and I WILL right the ship before the end of this next week. We will have another Feminist Friday discussion, and the threads we’re talking on now are still active, but I’ve turned on moderation until I am able to read every single word that has been posted on this  blog in the last 48 hours.

Tweeps, I will spend time with you tomorrow at some point, even if I end up staying up all night to do it.

Now, here is what my life is like right now, just so no one thinks I’m being underhanded or petty.

I’m dealing with a medical situation. I have internet access from the hospital, but the hospital has the security screwed down so tight that real blogging from there isn’t really feasible. I took me almost two hours to put together last night’s music post from the hospital network. I’ve been running back and forth between the hospital and the apartment all day, and trying to keep up with other family obligations at the same time.

I’m done worrying about social media until I get this situation in a better place, but given the way things have gone here in the last two days, I am not comfortable walking away from this blog and allowing the conversations to continue without me knowing what’s being said. So moderation is on, for everyone. This doesn’t mean you shouldn’t keep commenting. I’m paying attention to comments, and will let most of them through, even if I can’t respond.

I had about four hours of scheduled social media time today. I was out of touch for nearly the whole day yesterday. What I intended to do was update my blogs very quickly, get the A to Z posting taken care of through Wednesday, answer my comment threads, and update my A to Z page at the Writing Catalog. I know four hours doesn’t seem like a lot of time to do all that, but keep in mind that everything you’ve read here for most of the last week is due to two and a a half hours of very efficient blogging on Tuesday. I needed four hours of very efficient blogging today, and I was not able to swing it.

What happened instead was, I reblogged something here without understanding how the conversation was trending. Seconds after I reblogged it, I had a comment that I couldn’t just mark for later as needing an answer and go on. I had to answer it immediately because I could not afford for anyone else to stumble across it and jump in without seeing a response from me. And that started a conversation. A not-unfriendly and not-unwelcome conversation, but a conversation that required a lot of thought, attention, and words nonetheless. That conversation took all the time I have for today. And that means, for all practical purposes, it took all the time I have for the weekend.

I have to spend most of the day on the road tomorrow, because family. And I’m not using that as an excuse or saying I’d rather be on the computer. I WANT to be on the road tomorrow.

As much as I want what I’m doing to work, I’m not shorting my family or my professional life to make it happen, and this is just a bad combination of circumstances. We’ll get through this.

My top priority is the next Feminist Friday discussion, which I am thinking will be about education.

My second priority is trying to stick in with the A to Z challenge. I have a Writing Catalog post for Monday already. It can run without art if it has to. But if I don’t have something for Tuesday before it publishes, I’ll go ahead and attach a note that says I am bowing out. I have too many other responsibilities to be waking up every morning and having to write an A to Z post first thing.

My third priority is getting contributions ready to post on this blog. I hope I’ll have it under control by Wednesday so we can have a Batman post, but no promises.

Those are all I have time to think about. But in the meantime, I can’t have the sort of argument going on on my blog we’ve had today while I’m not able to follow it and moderate. That would be irresponsible.

Stick with me for a week. I’m confident I can return things to normal in a very short amount of time.

Posting without tags, because this shit isn’t really for the world, even though I am posting it on a public blog.

And have a video.

 

15 thoughts on “Honesty.

  1. I am sure I am not the only one appreciating the heads up. I wish you good luck to you and your family in the situation you are facing and will be sending good vibes your way.

    The first thing we all tend to say on the roleplaying board I am part of, when someone posts a LOA or a slow posting notice, is “RL comes first”. So I think it’s better that you can take care of the situation you’re facing and put comments on moderation and go through a slower posting zone on your blogs. It’s better to take time and keep the quality than rushing things and not doing what you wish you could.

    Like

    • Yeah. Heads ups are good.

      This day has gone so badly.

      I can’t afford to pretend things are normal and have an unexpected mid-week collapse.

      Much better to just shut it down for a couple of days.

      Like

  2. Wowsa, man. Yes, please take the time you need to take care of yourself first. We’ll be here when you get back to “normal” (as defined by you).

    I hope your medical issues are able to be resolved (or resolved enough) soon. Take care and rest up.

    Like

      • Oh, sorry, reading while headache. I miss things. Still, take the time you need. We’ve all been there in one way or another.

        Like

  3. Family first! I know about the hospital trips, waiting and worrying all too well. It has consumed my life for nearly four weeks now. You wear down trying to do it all. Take care of yourself as well. Best wishes to you and your wife.

    Like

  4. So sorry to hear about your wife’s situation, Gene. Family must come first, of course. Thanks for being honest with us all. Very best wishes to you both/all. Take as much time as you need. We’ll still be here. Ali xx

    Like

  5. I am sorry to hear you’ve had to deal with so much. I hope your wife is doing better. You are so generous to allow and to generate these discussions on this blog. Take care and we’ll all be here when things return to normal. Sending positive thoughts your way…

    Like

  6. Thank you for letting us know what’s going on, Gene’O. Here for you if you need a helping hand. Take care and hope you get everything back on track soon.

    Like

Chatter Away!

