Honesty.

Y’all need to go ahead and prepare for a lost week here. I hope it won’t end up being a whole week, but you never can tell.

matrix-closed-nightlcub-pittsburgh-alcohol-tax-sign-600x450

I feel like I owe this to you, rather than just turning on comment moderation and going dark, because this is an everyday blog and I’ve maintained it as such since November. I am experiencing a personal situation which requires all my attention. So let me speak to you as groups, and then explain what’s going on in my life.

Continue reading

Living In America: Living With RapeCulture

This is too good, and too important, not to reblog. It’s an important contribution to our conversation for two reasons: It’s very specific about the consequences of rape and rape culture in the U.S., and it addresses an issue that we deal with regularly – the idea that, for whatever reason, we just shouldn’t talk about it. I’m a little behind because I had something personal going on that kept me offline all day yesterday. At the moment, my plan is to get caught up with comments later this afternoon, and spend some time tomorrow catching up with those of you who tweet with me. Thanks for keeping this going in my absence.

Drifting Through

“Me and a gun
and a man
On my back
But I haven’t seen Barbados
So I must get out of this
Yes I wore a slinky red thing
Does that mean I should spread
For you, your friends your father, Mr. Ed”

-Tori Amos, Me and A Gun

My daughter used to play a game when she was a baby. She would crawl over to our magazine rack and tear up the pages. When I would say something to stop her, she would cover her eyes. She thought, in her adorable baby brain, that if she covered her eyes we couldn’t see it therefore nothing was happening. We laughed each time she did this. We marveled at the simple naiveté of a small child. We thought it was precious. But you know what’s not precious? When adults do it. When we do it. When society does it. When we…

View original post 920 more words