Thanks for the Awards! (with weekend preview)

Thanks to friends Natacha, Ali, and CompGeeks for nominating me for Very Inspiring Blogger, Wonderful Team Member Readership, and Versatile Blogger  awards. I truly appreciate the compliments, and I’m very pleased that two of those nominations are for The Writing Catalog. I’m way behind on award nominations, and maxed out with A to Z and local politics right now, but  I’m planning to do a week-long, written-in advance awards fest in late May, and use the free time during the week it runs to give my blogs an overhaul.I’m going to try another round of Feminist Friday discussion this weekend, beginning tomorrow morning. I’ll tweet a few invites once I get the post together. Not sure exactly how the post will go yet, but the fact that I spent several hours last night poring over rape statistics should give you a clue.

Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant signed Mississippi SB2681 today. Deep South Progressive has the story. I’ll have more to say about it over the weekend.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=95dFcWTBHQk

Call for Submissions: Indie and Self-Published Comics Creators

by Jeremy DeFatta

Good day, everyone! This is a call to all my readers, and especially those of particularly creative leanings. I am looking to expand my role as comic book commentator and reviewer here at Sourcerer. To accomplish that, I want to review more comics.

I don’t want to just review what’s already being published and getting lots of attention, though I could certainly do that. It is, after all, a large part of all of this. I would, however, prefer to review comics that either have not been widely published, or are published by an independent company but are not getting a lot of attention. I’d even like to see complete works that people are self-publishing.

If you are interested in me reading and openly reviewing your work, drop us a line or tweet me @quaintjeremy and we’ll see if we can’t work something out. I’m also happy to take recommendations on behalf of someone else. I am eagerly awaiting hearing from some of you.

Who’s ready for some Game of Thrones?

by Jeremy DeFatta

Good afternoon, everyone! It’s only 3 days until the season four premiere of Game of Thrones. I thought a little music to help get everyone in the mood might be in order. Here is a video of Cosplay Piano’s version of the opening theme from the series, with special bonus Lyanna Stark cosplay included.

Hopefully you are all duly pumped now. What is everyone looking forward to this season? (Book-readers, let’s keep the spoilers to a minimum, please.) What are you hoping for this season? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Tweet me @quaintjeremy.