I support The Campaign for Southern Equality.

MSEqual

Vicki and I bopped up to Safe Harbor Family Church in Jackson Sunday because @CSElive followed me on Twitter during the SB2681 madness a couple of weeks ago and let me know they were coming to Mississippi this week for an action. I wanted to talk to them in person and see how they conduct a political action before I decided whether or not to go all in with them. I’ll tell you, they impressed us both.

Their training session was professional. Their strategy and their methods are sound. They respect that they are working with people, and they are very up front about the fact that everyone has to decide for themselves whether or not to engage in political action. Vicki and I have decided to give them as much social media support as we can muster, and our personal endorsements.

Here’s the short version of what their WE DO campaign is about. They talk to same sex couples who are interested in working for full equality. They give them the training and support they need to go and apply for a marriage license. They help bring supporters out. They work with clergy, the authorities, and the media to make sure it’s a respectful, peaceful, and positive event. These are not protests.

They offer training and all kinds of other support to people who want to come out and stand with the couple. Everyone goes to the courthouse together. Supporters wait outside while the couple goes in, talks to the clerk, and gets denied. When the couple comes out, the first faces they see are the faces of the family, friends, acquaintances, and total strangers who took time out of their days to show up.

Y’all know how I feel about both political action and Nonviolence. This is nonviolent political action at its very best. If you want to do something with your social media to help real people achieve full equality, you could do much worse than blogging about this, sharing them on Facebook, and Tweeting with them. Especially if you live in the south, you should follow them and check their schedule regularly. You might find an opportunity to meet them and get involved locally.

Here’s their schedule for the rest of the week. You can find much more at southernequality.org and on their YouTube channel.

3/24: WE DO Campaign training, Millsaps College, Jackson;

3/25: Jackson WE DO action, 9:30 – 11:30 a.m.;

3/25: Public lecture on LGBT rights at Milsaps College, 7 p.m.;

3/26: Rally for LGBT rights in downtown Jackson led by groups from across Mississippi at noon;

3/26: Family Dinner (community organizing event) Hattiesburg from 7 – 9 p.m.

This is what they did in Mississippi last summer:

Just so those of you who collaborate closely with me know (speaking only for myself), I’m all in. I’ve given these good folks my physical address and phone number. They have a blank check to send me every piece of communication they produce and tag me on any social media any time they want.

If you’ve followed me from the very beginning, you’ve seen me turn these three blogs and all the other social media channels they’re connected to into a single amplifier on at least four occasions. You’ve seen what a week of planning and tweeting about a conversation on feminism and activism got us over the weekend, and that discussion hasn’t ended yet. I don’t have anything like that in the works at moment, but if I see an opportunity to help The Campaign for Southern Equality by doing it for them, Diana and I will be having a conversation about it. That’s how strongly I feel.

If you’re collaborating with me on other things, and this isn’t your cup of tea, no worries. I’m still in the entertainment and networking business. Everyone has to make their own decisions about things like this. But I’ve made mine, and I’m writing more about this. If you want to work with me on it, let me know, and I’ll be happy to figure out something useful for us to do together.

Note – Wrote this hastily, so I didn’t really do the campaign justice. There will be more when I have time to put it together. If you want to help with the action itself, follow them on Facebook and Twitter and share whatever they post during and immediately after the action on Tuesday. This is not all they do; they also have a legal team.

image credit: I swiped it from a Facebook profile during the legislative craziness. No idea who produced it. I assume that an image like that is public domain, because the only reason to create it to have it shared. I’ll be happy to credit it, if I ever find out who authored it.

14 thoughts on “I support The Campaign for Southern Equality.

  1. Oh, yay! I don’t have time to read this now, so I just skimmed through it, but I will come back to it later.

    Anyways, I participated in the last campaigns that had in Hattiesburg and Jackson. It was a great experience. Highly recommend.

    Like

  2. Just wanted to say I really enjoyed meeting members of The Campaign for Southern Equality in Jackson today. Thanks you to the kind folks of Safe Harbor Church. We have heard some really nice things about this church family for a long time. As Gene’O mentioned we were very impressed by the campaign members and I, too am fully in support of this action. Those of you who know me personally know I have some very long held beliefs about equality for & support of the LGBTQ community. We’ll be participating as we are able.

    Like

    • Thanks, Darlin’ 😉

      Edited to include a link to Safe Harbor’s website. I was in such a hurry to get this out, didn’t even notice I’d failed to include them.

      Like

  3. Great stuff, Gene; I have shared it on Facebook and a few others. By the way, I thought you handled your first Troll absolutely BRILLIANTLY. You were firm without being abusive – and you kept your temper/manners throughout: very impressive. I think the professorial trolls are the most difficult to deal with because they have rhetoric and intelligence – and you are never quite sure whether their trolling is inadvertent or deliberate. So, long story short, well done! Ali x

    Like

    • Thanks, Ali. The reason I smacked him so hard with the post is because he didn’t stop when I asked. As far as I’m concerned, when a resident blogger asks you to leave a thread, it doesn’t really matter what’s being said or how you feel. You respect that request. I don’t go in for a lot of crazy etiquette, but that rule is a must for me.

      And thanks for sharing on Facebook. This campaign is really helping, I think. I’d like more people to be aware of it. That’s why I took the time to explain what they’re about. And they have a ton of good material for posts on their website and YouTube channel. So, good for bloggers who care about the issue and need ideas for posts.

      Like

    • Thanks for the bravo, and you’re welcome!

      I’m following these folks now, I’ll be helping them out quite a bit going forward, so there will be more.

      Like

    • Yeah. I thought so. I needed to go and look them in the eye and understand how they conduct an action to be sure. This time around, all I can do is get them a few facebook shares and retweets and such. But unless things change dramatically, they’ll be back in Mississippi next year.

      And next year, I’ll start the week before they show up, and we’ll do for them what we are doing with our feminism discussion (and the fact that it is still going, and you just added a comment to it makes me very, very happy).

      In the meantime, I’m following their schedule. Sharing them on action days. And anytime a blogger I know comes and tells me CSE is in their local community and they’re willing to help, I’ll do what I’m doing here for that action, too.

      I’m ready to push this issue over the top. It’s time.

      Like

      • I like to follow discussions. 🙂

        I’m glad you went, because I’ll take your word for it that they’re handling the idea well. I’m planning to share it tomorrow. I didn’t see anything scheduled in Alabama and I’m single, but I’ve already sent the main page to the LGBTQ+ organizations with which I’m connected and hopefully there’ll be an event within driving distance soon.

        Like

  4. Pingback: Today is the Day | Sourcerer

  5. Pingback: Cat-Blog: On Marriage Equality and the Struggle to Keep Marriage Personal | Part Time Monster

  6. Pingback: Notes from a hectic week. | The Writing Catalog

Chatter Away!

