We’re having a #FeministFriday chat on #wordpress this week, and all you #bloggers are invited.

I had this idea over the weekend. Diana and Gretchen encouraged me to take the shot, so I’m doing it.

patrickstewart

I’ll publish a Feminist Friday post on Friday morning. I’ll tell you a story that you will find amusing, if not downright heartwarming, and then I will ask a few questions:

Is Feminism a politically useful label? If not, what do we do about it? Can it be made useful again, or do we need to get creative?

I will NOT argue either of these things:

  1. Feminism is dead (I believe it is alive).
  2. We should not reclaim the label as a positive identifier and use it proudly (we emphatically should).

The question is very specific. If we want to work together and advocate for full equality for women in a comprehensive sort of way, should we brand that effort a feminist enterprise? That’s what I’m getting at. I am all about results.

I picked this topic because I know a lot more about political activism than feminism, so it ensures that I will have something of substance to contribute.

Everyone who thinks women should have more equality is invited to read and join in. I plan to have the post up by 9 a.m. Central Time. If you don’t have time to join us on Friday, the thread will be here when you have time to stop by and catch up.

I must work for awhile Friday, but should be able to answer comments and chime in around 3 p.m. Central.

I’m keeping moderation of first-time comments on for a bit. If you’ve never commented on one of our threads, and you think this is a good idea, telling me so would be a good way to make sure your first comment isn’t held while I’m at work on Friday.

Here are a couple of Feminist Friday posts you’ll want to read if you missed them the first time. This time next year, I’ll be calling them classics.  Comparative Geeks: Holly on why we need female heroes and superheroes.  Alva’s Almanac: Why Feminist Friday is important.

Correction: It’s been so long now I can’t remember for sure, but I don’t think that CompGeeks post was actually a Feminist Friday post. It it does relate directly to this topic, though, and it’s definitely written from a feminist perspective.

image: I got it here with a Google search. Beyond that, I have no idea, but I am grateful to whomever snapped the pic, and will happily credit them if I ever find out who it was.

40 thoughts on “We’re having a #FeministFriday chat on #wordpress this week, and all you #bloggers are invited.

  1. I agree with you, feminism is not dead; however, it does need to stop being taken for granted. I can’t help but feel that what defines feminism has become vague or foggy over the past ten years as everyone, with some opinion on equality or pro-matriarchal society claims to be a feminist. It is important to raise feminism on the political and social agenda but it should not be weaponised.

    If you get what I mean.

    Anyway, good blog, query, and vivir el Viernes feminista.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment, and I get what your saying. This is a little odd. This is the next iteration of a conversation that’s been going on since January on various blogs. I’ve been looking at “weaponization” from the other angle – not that people use feminism in the way you’re talking about, but that people who have an interest maintaining the status quo or rolling back the clock on equality have weaponized it by associating it with negative stereotypes, to the point that a lot of people who basically operate as feminists just don’t like the term.

      So in a sense, the popular definition of feminism is a definition chosen by its adversaries. This discussion is friendly – it’s not an argument at all – but there are two basic perspectives. One perspective is let’s reclaim the label and get on with encouraging more assertive advocacy for women’s rights. The other perspective is, yes, we should reclaim the definition, but as a matter of practical politics it’s just too fraught with negative associations to be useful, so we need a new frame to advocate for issues that have been traditionally associated with feminism.

      Anyway, I’m hoping to generate enough discussion to have another thread to add to that running conversation and generate more ideas for Feminist Friday chats, and I want to see whether people will discuss this, or whether the conversation goes in an entirely different direction. Either way, if we can get a few people talking about it, I’ll be happy.

      Like

      • Oh yes, it is a subject which needs more positive discussion, I whole heartedly agree. Feminism should be akin with meritists rather than prejudice. I’ll see what I can do to rack up some interest in Feminist Fridays 🙂

        Like

        • Thanks very much! So far, all I’ve done I reblog Feminist Friday posts or, if i can find enough of them, do a roundup.

          If this works, this will give me an easy way to pitch in on my own. It’s not that hard to come up with a topic. Diana, Gretchen, and I have discussion threads galore in our archives to pull them from.

          Like

  2. I agree that Feminism is neither dead, nor should we shy away from claiming it as an identifier. I’ve put a claim to it a long time ago and continue to call myself a feminist. It is not my only identifier, but it is an important one. To me it stands on parity with that of being a democrat. In fact I do not understand how anyone can claim to be the latter, without also being a feminist. I’ve written on the topic in the past and look forward to contributing to the discussion on Friday.

    Like

  3. This is looking like a better and better idea. I’m glad that you thought of it. I’ll be contributing, of course, and I’ve also got a feminist Friday post brewing about a subReddit group devoted to re-posting Facebook photos (without permission) of women’s cleavage.I just have to write something about it.

    Like

    • Cool! I’m thinking about how to promote tomorrow. I’ve burned my blog ammo, and have to be careful about tweeting the link too much. But I haven’t used my personal timeline on FB yet. I can do that.

      If this works, we can do this regularly even if we don’t do it every week. We have enough feminism threads to pull topics from for weeks if not months. And it doesn’t always have to be hosted here. We can spread the goodness around.

      Like

    • Also, one more thing. Given the level of interest I’m already seeing in this and the fact that we seem to be making progress on one of our most important goals here, I need to do a roundup or Tolkien reblog tonight or tomorrow at the monster and just put Gollum on hiatus until this plays out. That series is too important to just leave hanging or do a slapdash job on, but I think this has to take precedence.

      Like

  4. I pop on and offline on Fridays, but I don’t have a chance to really participate in discussions until evenings, and I’m usually wiped by then. Most of what I post on Friday is scheduled ahead. I’ll try to work up a comment or a post and give you a link back at least.

    Like

  5. Reblogged this on Rose B Fischer and commented:
    I probably won’t have the time on Friday, but wanted to spread the word. I think this is a cool/important discussion for anyone interested in equal rights.

    Like

  6. Wow this is an interesting idea! I would love to take part. What would have been better however, is if WordPress has some dort of live chat box, so everything would be instantaneous. perhaps eventually, in the future, you could also do a google hangout! G-hangouts have a lot of features, including a Q&A box that can emphasis certain questions as well as moderate which ones show. Just some food for thought.

    Keep up the great work!

    Like

    • Thanks! Those are some interesting ideas. I don’t know much about the G+, but I’m always thinking about ways to bring more people into discussions like this.

      Like

      • Yes iv used it twice and its a great and multifaceted platform. Great for outreach an communication.

        Like

  7. Quoting from my blog –

    Life isn’t fair always, because of coincidence and circumstance and the DNA you were born with, and we all have to accept the hands we’re dealt and live within that reality. But life doesn’t have to be additionally unfair because of imposed systems of disenfranchisement that only affect certain groups. We can fight against that. Feminism isn’t about striving for individual fairness, on a life-by-life basis—it’s about fighting against a systematic ‘removal of opportunities’ that infringes on women’s basic freedoms. If a woman and a man have equal potential in a field, they should have an equal opportunity to achieve success in that field. It’s not that we want the least qualified women to be handed everything just because they’re women. It’s that we want all women to have the same opportunities as all men to fulfill (or fail to fulfill, on their own inherent merits) their potential. If a particular woman is under qualified for a particular job, fine. That isn’t sexism. But she shouldn’t have to be systematically set up, from birth, to be under qualified for all jobs (except for jobs that reinforce traditional femininity).

    Like

    • Thanks! Sorry it took so long to get put through.

      Some of this relates directly to why we started discussing the political usefulness of feminism as a label to begin with. Quite a few people I know believe more needs to be done to address systemic issues. That requires a bit of political coordination. Can’t get people to coordinate if you use a label that a lot of people who would otherwise agree to help you with the issues you’re working on aren’t comfortable identifying that way.

      Like

  8. Pingback: Note – #collaborators @parttimemonster @wanderinpoet @quaintjeremy @gkelly73 @ersatzidentity @VickiTGordon | The Writing Catalog

  9. Pingback: Maleficent New Trailer And Feminism, Writing, Star Wars, Tolkien and Batman Related Links | Natacha Guyot

  10. Pingback: #AtoZ Blogging Challenge Theme Reveal and #FeministFriday Discussion Invitation | Part Time Monster

    • I’m very glad to hear it 🙂

      I think we’ve gotten the word out to enough people that the discussion should be lively and interesting.

      Welcome!

      Like

  11. Pingback: Feminist Friday | Branding | alva's almanac

  12. Pingback: Feminist Friday | Branding – Alva's Almanac

  13. Pingback: Feminist Friday…. Why? | Drifting Through My Open Mind

  14. Pingback: Note – #collaborators @parttimemonster @quaintjeremy @gkelly73 @ersatzidentity @VickiTGordon | Just Gene'O

Chatter Away!

