Comics News: Luthor a Hero, Wolverine a Villain, Avengers Movie Updates

ms-marvel

by Jeremy DeFatta

There have been a quite a few developments in the comic book and comic book movie worlds these past couple of weeks, and I have been remiss in saying much about them. This is my chance to make up for that. Please note: these lists are not meant to be exhaustive; rather, I plan on commenting on a few things from Marvel and DC that have really caught my attention. Please feel free to bring up things I’ve missed in the comments below!

DC Comics

  1. Geoff Johns and John Romita, Jr. are taking over the main Superman title this summer. I’m not a big fan of Romita’s art (he’s never come close to his father in terms of ability), but I will read anything Johns writes.
  2. The above coupled with a post-Forever Evil Lex Luthor-led Justice League also written by Geoff Johns should make a great pairing of titles to follow. I can’t wait to see how Forever Evil wraps up.
  3. The Rock may have let slip he’s going to play Green Lantern John Stewart in the new DC Cinematic Universe. Either way, he’s involved with their movies somehow, which I am very cool with, though Stewart is far from my favorite Green Lantern.
  4. Stemming from the above, Jesse Eisenberg was cast as Lex Luthor (which I don’t really care about) and Jeremy Irons was cast as Alfred (which is pretty cool). Further, DC is adding way too many people to its movie roster way too quickly. They need to ease off a bit before they go bankrupt trying to make too many movies at once.
  5. Arrow has been renewed for a third season. Huzzah!

Marvel Comics

  1. Greg Rucka is going to write a cosmic adventure title for Marvel featuring the time-displaced young Cyclops of All-New X-Men. This has the potential to be a pretty cool writer/character pairing, and I mention it because I plan on returning to the topic of time travel in Marvel in the near future (pun possibly intended), which I actually view quite favorably.
  2. The Avengers: Age of Ultron has started filming in Johannesburg, South Africa. Though mention of Africa in any context made many fans immediately assume that Wakanda and Black Panther might be involved somehow, it looks like that is an unsubstantiated rumor.
  3. However, Paul Bettany (already the voice of J.A.R.V.I.S.) has been cast as the Vision and Marvel is reportedly seeking a way to include Ms. Marvel (Carol Danvers) in the sequel as well. I’ve seen quite a bit of fan casting for Carol over the past couple of weeks, with the standout actresses being Katee Sackhoff, Yvonne Strahovski, and Katheryn Winnick, any of whom would be amazing in the part.
  4. Apparently Wolverine is a villain now and has lost his healing factor, according to Paul Cornell, the current writer of his title. I’m not sure how this one will go.

That’s what I have for now—concise and to the point. Please feel free to open up discussion below. I’d love to talk over these points and any others I left out. As always, you can tweet me @quaintjeremy.

image © Marvel Comics, via Screencrush

6 thoughts on “Comics News: Luthor a Hero, Wolverine a Villain, Avengers Movie Updates

  1. GENE’O ~ 😉 hello, have been very busy this last few weeks. Now it looks like next week will be a blogging one for me. When you decide to chat with me about art. Or anything you would like, here is my email cornerart@live.com Hope to here from you soon. Thank you ~ C

    Like

  2. Boo for Wolverine as a villain and no hearing factor. What next? Remove his claws? Sheesh.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Comics News: Daredevil, Batman, Forever People and More! | Sourcerer

Chatter Away!

