Thanks, Thoughts on Blogging Awards, and 7 Things About Me

versatileaward

Thanks to Diana for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award. She was nominated by E. of The Playground – a blog I heartily recommend. This is one of the first awards I noticed being passed around when I started my blogs, and it’s one I really wanted. I don’t rush to do nominations, but I do say thanks with a link within a day or two of receiving them.

I’ve said some of this stuff on comments threads and on Sourcerer’s awards page, but here is how I feel about awards. I love them. I enjoy receiving them and I enjoy passing them on. I think they are a good way to complement other bloggers on their work. I don’t attach any real status to them, but I do enjoy looking at a blog’s side bar and awards page when I first discover it to see which awards they’ve won.

Awards also have their own tags, and a lot of people use them. Sometimes I browse award tags and give likes and congratulations to the bloggers who post their nominations to those tags. I don’t really care one way or another whether people acknowledge my nominations or pass them on – it’s nice when giving a nomination starts a conversation, but I’m happy for every blogger to do his or her own thing where awards (and most every other aspect of blogging) are concerned. I will say, it’s kind of cool when I nominate someone for an award, forget about it, and then see their nomination post two months later.

I also think awards posts might be some of the easiest themed content to follow back through time, because every nomination post includes links to show where the nomination came from, and a list of people the award is being passed on to. Sometime, maybe toward the end of the year, I’d liked to take a close look at an award or two and see how far back I can trace them. I’m interested in knowing things like, who invented an award, who created the most commonly-used badges, etc.

I have so many nominations to do at this point that you might think I was angling for the Lazy Blogger Award. That is not actually what I am doing. I’m getting ready to do two or three in the next little while. I’m planning to start with an ABC post and a Sunshine post, but I also have Dragon’s Loyalty and Field of Flowers nominations to award, as well.

Now, as a bonus, here are 7 things about me, and they’re based on Diana’s 7 things. When I do my nominations, I’ll include a different seven things about me.

1. It seems that a LOT of slightly-younger women in my circle are planning to get married this spring.

2. My birthday is at the end of the summer. Once my birthday comes and goes, I think of my year as effectively over. There’s a brief period between my birthday and Halloween where I’m trying to squeeze the last of the good stuff out of the year. The last long days, last free weekend, etc. The winter holidays are overwhelming. It takes all the energy I can muster and most of my free time get through from the end of November to January 2. It’s dark all the time, and I am very sensitive to the lack of sunlight. So, I am happy my birthday is at the end of the summer. It’s my favorite time of the year.

3. My wife proposed to me 10 years ago. We still haven’t  gotten the ring, and our marriage is a thing of beauty. It is the best decision I’ve ever made. We shopped for wedding bands together and told almost no one we were getting married. We slipped off to another county with one witness and did the deed, then called everyone and told them the next day. I did not wear a tie, but I did wear a vest.

4. We have several songs. One of them is “Outlaw Honeymoon” by Steve Earle.

5. I am so ready for winter to be over. I’m glad the days are getting longer, and it’s warm enough to go out without a jacket today. Soon, very soon, I’ll have the right weather and good light to do some photoblogging, which is one of my favorite kinds of blogging, but difficult to do consistently when it’s always pouring down rain and getting dark at 5 p.m.

6. Also, not a fan of crowds. I would go so far as to say I might have a touch of agoraphobia. I also do not hear very well out of my left ear. I’ve always assumed it’s nerve damage from listening to music too loud and driving with my window down for 20 years. I had no idea, or had forgotten, that Diana’s left ear is bad, too. Now I am wondering if this problem is genetic.

7. I love House of Cards, but I am not able to get it at home. I binged on the first season a few months ago during a weekend trip to NOLA, and can’t wait to see that new season.

8 thoughts on “Thanks, Thoughts on Blogging Awards, and 7 Things About Me

  1. Awards are one of the fuels a blogger needs. Why else are we here if not to have our voices heard, and acknowledgement is proof that our voice is not shouting in vain into the teeth of a hurricane. Congratulations on the success. Enjoy, and even gloat a little.

    Like

    • Thanks, Drew! I agree. I know so many blogs that deserve more attention than they get, I can’t even count them all. Awards are a way to introduce a few extra people to those good blogs, is mainly how I think of them.

      Like

Chatter Away!

